Austrian Open: Qualifiers are confirmed

The four qualifiers who made it into the main draw were decided today at the second round of qualification at the Austrian Open at EUROPARK shopping mall.

First on court was top seed Spencer Lovejoy (USA) and James Peach (ENG) The match was decided in three games to Spencer, however all games were very close with James even reaching two game balls in the third game. But the US-boy was able to save both of them and took the game 12/10.

After 37min Spencer won 11/9, 11/8, 12/10.

The next match on the glasscourt was between Jakub Solnicky (CZE) and Martin Kegel (CRO). Also this match ended up 3/0. It was the Czech Jakub who had the better end and won 11/9, 11/2, 11/8 after 35min.

It was another 3/0 victory for Claudio Pinto from Portugal. He was too good today for his opponent Robert Dadds, who seemed to be not on his best today.

Last on court was Vini Rodrigues from Brazil against Roshan Bharos from Holland. Vini had a bit more control in the first two games taking them 11/8 each. The last game was a more clear affair for the Brazilian winning 11/4.

Tomorrow the big action will start with the main draw. Two Austrian’s – Jakob Dirnberger and defending Champion Aqeel Rehman will keep the local interests up. Jakob will meet fifth seed Lyell Fuller from England at 17:00, while Aqeel plays against Qualifier Claudio Pinto from Portugal at 18:00. National TV will report from tomorrow’s evening matches as well as National Radio.

Pictures are free to use with the reference of ‘a.lutche –’

These are the results from today:

[1] Spencer Lovejoy (USA) – [8] James Peach (ENG) 11/9, 11/8, 12/10 37min

[6] Jakub Solnicky (CZE)  -(4) Martin Kegel (CRO) 11/9, 11/2, 11/8 35min

[5] Claudio Pinto (POR) – [4]  Robert Dadds 11/8, 11/3, 11/2 29min

[7] Vini Rodrigues (BRA)- [2] Roshan Bharos (NED) 11/8, 11/8, 11/4 35min


These are the matches for tomorrow:

12:00: [6] Emyr Evans (WAL) – Ben Coates (ENG)

12:45: [3] Ahmed Hosny (EGY) – [Q] Jakub Solnicky (CZE)

13:30: [7] Brian Byrne (IRL) – Nick Mulvey (ENG)

14:15: [2] Jaymie Haycocks (ENG) – [Q] Spencer Lovejoy (USA)


15:30: [8] Valentin Rapp (GER) – [Q] Vini Rodrigues (BRA)

16:15: [1] Mohammad Alsarraj (JOR) – Rory Stewart (SCO)

17:00: [WC] Jakob Dirnberger (AUT) – [5] Lyell Fuller (ENG)

18:00: [4] Aqeel Rehman (AUT) – [Q] Claudio Pinto (POR)