First round main draw of Austrian Open – Top seeds are out!

The day of first round of the main draw of the Austrian Open started with a sad message – top seed Mohammed Alsarraj withdrew due to injury. This meant Lucky Loser Roshan Bharos (NED) got a second chance and just made it as he was just about to board the plane back home!

The Dutchman seemed to have settled quickly, as he showed a good performance but wasn’t lucky enough for a second time. In a 60min battle he lost against Rory Stewart from Scotland.

Earlier on the new top gun Jaymie Haycocks lost in another five setter to young US-qualifier Spencer Lovejoy!

Vini Rodrigues caused for one more upset after he beat eight seed German Valentin Rapp 13/11 in the fourth game!

All other matches went acording to the seeding, which unfortunately means, that Austrian Wildcard entry Jakob Dirnberger became second against Lyell Fuller from England, but also that defending Champion Aqeel Rehman won against qualifier Claudio Pinto 3/0.

The only Austrian left has the chance to take revenge on his collegue, as Aqeel will play against Lyell in the quarterfinal on Thursday.

Thanks for the pictures to a.lutche –

These were the results from today’s first round:

[5] Emyr Evans (WAL) – Ben Coates (ENG) 11/6, 11/8, 11/3 28min

[2] Ahmed Hosny (EGY) – [Q] Jakub Solnicky (CZE) 11/8, 11/8, 12/10 28min

[6] Brian Byrne (IRL) – Nick Mulvey (ENG) 11/5, 11/13, 11/9, 11/6 45min

[Q] Spencer Lovejoy (USA) – [1] Jaymie Haycocks (ENG) –  11/9, 11/13, 8/11, 11/2, 11/7 60min

[Q] Vini Rodrigues (BRA) – [7] Valentin Rapp (GER) – 11/6, 6/11, 11/9, 13/11 56min

Rory Stewart (SCO)  – [LL] Roshan Bharos (NED) – 11/9, 5/11, 11/3, 5/11, 11/5 60min

[4] Lyell Fuller (ENG) – [WC] Jakob Dirnberger (AUT) –  11/4, 11/5, 11/4 31min

[3] Aqeel Rehman (AUT) – [Q] Claudio Pinto (POR) 11/7, 16/14, 11/6  41min

And these will be the quarterfinale matches on thursday:

15:45: [2] Ahmed Hosny (EGY) – [5] Emyr Evans (WAL)

16:30: [6] Brian Byrne (IRL) – [Q] Spencer Lovejoy (USA)

17:15: Rory Stewart (SCO) – [Q] Vini Rodrigues (BRA)

18:00: [3] Aqeel Rehman (AUT) – [4] Lyell Fuller (ENG)