Stop Press: Change of draw for the Austrian Open starting on wednesday!

Due to a withdrawl of number 6 seed Sajad Jahromi Zareian (IRI, WRL 157) the draw for the Austrian Open has changed slightly. Amadeo Costa from Switzerland, ranked 238 in the world will replace the Iranian.

This PSA world ranking tournament has been taking place in Salzburg since 2005 and is going in it’s 15th edition in a row! The total prize money for the event is 5.500 USD.

The Austrian Open is a part of the ‚Austrian Squash Challenge‘ – a two week squash event from 27th May – 8th June with lots of different activities on a glasscourt in the EUROPARK Salzburg, one of the most prestigious shopping malls in europe. It is the 5th Austrian Squash Challenge and a further agreement until 2022 has been signed with the shopping mall management.

More than 400 Kids were invited to enjoy free squash clinics with record 13 thimes Austrian Champion Aqeel Rehman and former national player Rehan van der Merwe.

Also the Austrian Bundesliga Play-Offs took place where world number 7 Mohamed Abouelghar played for his team Wr.Neudorf/Mödling to defend their title from last year.

This week the stage will be opened for the professionals from across the globe for the Austrian Open title. Also the defending champion Lyell Fuller (ENG, WRL 105) has made his way to Salzburg as top seed of the tournament.

Also two Austrians will try to entertain the home crowd. Wildcard entry Jakob Dirnberger will play his last tournament and will retire from the PSA afterwards. He will meet number 4 seed Angus Gillams from Scotland.

Organiser and Austrian Champion Aqeel Rehman (WRL 143) – sixth seed on the other hand will play David Zeman (CZE, WRL 219). He will try to repeat his win from 2017.

The first round starts on wednesday with eight Matches from 12 Noon onwards as following:

12:00: [5] Valentin Rapp (GER) – Adrian Ostbye (NOR)

12:45: [7] Sergio Garcia Pollan (ESP) –  Nilo Vidal (ESP)

13:30: [3] Abhay Singh (IND) – Cédric Kuchen (SUI)

14:30: [2] Miko Äijanen (FIN) – Amadeo Costa (SUI)

15:30: [8] Vladislav Titov (RUS) –Hasnaat Farooqi (ENG)

16:30: [1] Lyell Fuller (ENG) – Chua Man Chin (SGP)

17:30: [WC] Jakob Dirnberger (AUT) – [4] Angus Gillams (SCO)

18:30: [6] Aqeel Rehman (AUT) – David Zeman (CZE)

The full draw can be viewed here.

More information can be found on our website Also you can follow the event on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.